Home battery comparison
7 configurations from 5 brands, figures copied from manufacturer documents. Programs that reduce the price are listed on the battery incentives page; every document read is on sources.
Data as of 8 Nov 2026, source: manufacturer datasheets and warranty PDFs, one link per product below
| Chemistry | Coupling | Inverter | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Generac PWRcell 2, M6 cabinet (6 modules) | 18 | 10.5 kW | n/s | 10 | 70%12.6 kWh* | 45.36* | NMC | AC | No | not published |
| Fortress Power eBoost 16 | 16 | n/s | 16 kW, 10 s | 10 | n/s | 128.6* | LFP | DC | No | not published |
| FranklinWH aPower 2 | 15 | 10 kW | 15 kW, 10 s | 15 | 70%10.5 kWh* | 60 | LFP | AC | Yes | not published |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | 13.5 | 11.5 kW | n/s | 10 | 70%9.45 kWh* | 37.8 | Not stated | DC | Yes | not published |
| Enphase IQ Battery 10C | 10 | 7.08 kW | 56 A, 3 s | 15 | 60%6 kWh* | 60* | LFP | AC | Yes | not published |
| Generac PWRcell 2, M3 cabinet (3 modules) | 9 | 5.2 kW | n/s | 10 | 70%6.3 kWh* | 22.68* | NMC | AC | No | not published |
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P | 5 | 3.84 kVA | 7.68 kVA | 15 | 60%3 kWh* | 30* | LFP | AC | Yes | not published |
* derived by us from two datasheet numbers (see notes). n/s: not stated in the document. $ / kWh is filled only when the manufacturer publishes a price; none of the documents read did.
Energy left, energy allowed, coupling
The warranted capacity and throughput limits are read from the warranty documents and discussed in warranties compared. Derived figures are marked and explained in the methodology.
AC-coupled or DC-coupled
The Coupling column uses these two terms. An AC-coupled battery has its own inverter and joins the house on the AC side. A DC-coupled battery shares one hybrid inverter with the solar panels. Each datasheet's own wording is in the notes below. To see what a battery can run, use the battery runtime calculator, or compare Powerwall 3 and Enphase 10C. Portable units are on the power stations page.
Installed price per kWh
Not published per model. No manufacturer document read prints a price, and the public data sets tried give no $ per kWh for batteries.
Third-party market figures by brand, with their source and read date, are in the home battery cost guide.
- Berkeley Lab, U.S. Distributed Solar and Storage 2026 Data Update (Aug 2026): read in full 8 Nov 2026; prices for paired PV plus storage are given in $ per W of PV (median $2.1/W higher than stand-alone PV for cash purchases), not $ per kWh of battery. Read 8 Nov 2026.
- NLR (NREL) Annual Technology Baseline 2025, Residential Battery Storage: read 8 Nov 2026; the cost breakdown is an image and the page text gives no $/kWh figure for the 5 kW / 12.5 kWh reference system. Read 8 Nov 2026.
- Manufacturer datasheets and warranty documents for the 7 battery configurations in the table: read 8 Nov 2026; none prints a price. Read 8 Nov 2026.
Market figure, third party, not per model
| Row | Typical kWh | $ per kWh | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| All brands, typical system | 13.5 | 1,159 | $15,647 for 13.5 kWh, divided by us |
| Tesla (brand average) | 13.5 | 967 | average of quotes for that brand |
| Enphase Energy (brand average) | 10 | 1,429 | average of quotes for that brand |
| FranklinWH (brand average) | 15 | 1,232 | average of quotes for that brand |
Source: EnergySage, Solar battery cost, updated 13 Jul 2026, read 8 Nov 2026. Third party. Average of installer quotes shown on EnergySage's marketplace in the first half of 2026, before incentives. Not a price list and not tied to a model. The brand rows are averages across that brand's products and installers, so they are not placed in the table above. The $ per kWh column in the table stays at not published.
Notes and sources per product
All documents read 8 Nov 2026.
Tesla Powerwall 3
- Usable
- Datasheet states nominal battery energy 13.5 kWh AC, beginning of life, 25 C; no separate usable figure
- Continuous
- Highest of four configurable ratings (5.8, 7.6, 10, 11.5 kW)
- Peak
- Not stated; 185 A LRA load start
- Warranty and throughput
- Unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control, backup; 37.8 MWh for any other use
- Coupling
- Integrated hybrid inverter with up to 20 kW DC solar input
- Sources
Enphase IQ Battery 5P
- Usable
- Usable 5.0 kWh; footnote says usable includes a 2% safety limit and 3% overnight reserve
- Continuous
- 240 VAC; 3.33 kVA at 208 VAC
- Peak
- 7.68 kVA
- Warranty and throughput
- 6,000 cycles, whichever comes first (datasheet); 30 MWh is 6,000 x 5.0 kWh, derived
- Coupling
- AC-coupled all-in-one system
- Sources
Enphase IQ Battery 10C
- Usable
- Usable 10.0 kWh; same 2% safety limit and 3% overnight reserve footnote
- Continuous
- Maximum continuous discharge rate 7.08 kW; rated output 7.08 kVA at 240 VAC
- Peak
- 56 A for 3 s (kW not stated)
- Warranty and throughput
- 6,000 cycles, whichever comes first (datasheet); 60 MWh is 6,000 x 10.0 kWh, derived
- Coupling
- AC-coupled all-in-one system
- Sources
FranklinWH aPower 2
- Usable
- Datasheet: 15 kWh AC per unit at beginning of life, 3 kW charge/discharge, 77 F
- Continuous
- 10 kW / 11.5 kVA continuous discharge
- Peak
- 15 kW for 10 s
- Warranty and throughput
- Capacity not below 70% at 15 years or 60 MWh, whichever comes first
- Coupling
- AC-coupled battery
- Sources
Generac PWRcell 2, M6 cabinet (6 modules)
- Usable
- Six 3 kWh modules, beginning of life, 77 F
- Continuous
- Maximum continuous power for the M6 configuration
- Peak
- Not stated; 130 A LRA start capacity
- Warranty and throughput
- 10 years or 7.56 MWh per module, whichever comes first; 45.4 MWh is 6 x 7.56, derived
- Coupling
- Spec sheet: AC-coupled architecture; needs separate PWRcell 2 inverter
- Sources
Generac PWRcell 2, M3 cabinet (3 modules)
- Usable
- Three 3 kWh modules, beginning of life, 77 F
- Continuous
- Maximum continuous power for the M3 configuration
- Peak
- Not stated; 65 A LRA start capacity
- Warranty and throughput
- 10 years or 7.56 MWh per module, whichever comes first; 22.7 MWh is 3 x 7.56, derived
- Coupling
- Spec sheet: AC-coupled architecture; needs separate PWRcell 2 inverter
- Sources
Fortress Power eBoost 16
- Usable
- Overview text: 16 kWh of usable energy per unit; spec table lists nominal energy 16.077 kWh
- Continuous
- Not stated in kW; closed-loop 180 A charge / 250 A discharge at 51.2 V nominal
- Peak
- 16 kW for 10 s (surge)
- Warranty and throughput
- Datasheet lists 8,000 cycles to 70% end of life; not tied to the 10 year warranty. 128.6 MWh is 8,000 x 16.077 kWh, derived
- Coupling
- DC energy storage system, pairs with Fortress Envy-series inverters; no inverter inside
- Sources
Not in the table
SolarEdge Home Battery 400V (BAT-10K1P): knowledge-center.solaredge.com returned HTTP 403 on 2026-11-08; not read, not listed in the table
LG ESS Home: not listed: no current US datasheet found as of 8 Nov 2026